Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Sales prices did well in May ...

Home sales rose 6 percent across the Coachella Valley in May in contrast to double-digit declines in Riverside County and the rest of Southern California.

Last month, 1,087 single-family homes and condominiums sold in the valley, San Diego-based DataQuick Information Systems reported. Cities with the strongest sales included Palm Desert with 203, Palm Springs with 187 and La Quinta with 142.

The median price — half sold for more, half for less — was $204,000 in May, a 3 percent decline from May 2010, DataQuick reported.

Compared to May last year, sales fell 12.5 percent in Riverside County and 17.4 percent across Southern California.

In recent months, the valley's home sales have fared significantly better than the rest of Southern California, driven by second-home buyers and bargain hunters.

That hasn't helped stabilize prices, but it is helping to slowly clear out the huge inventory of real estate, a critical step in rebuilding the local economy.

Read the whole story:|topnews|text|Frontpage

Sunday, June 19, 2011

New law July 1st - you must have CO2 detectors in your home

All single-family homes in California with attached garages and fireplaces are supposed to have a carbon monoxide detector starting July 1 when a new California law takes effect.

Owners of apartment buildings have until Jan. 1, 2013, to comply with the law. “Carbon monoxide is a silent killer, each year claiming the lives of an average of 480 people and sending more than 20,000 people to emergency rooms across the nation,” acting State Fire Marshal Tonya Hoover said in a news release.

The colorless, odorless gas is produced from heaters, fireplaces, furnaces, and many types of appliances and cooking devices. It's also produced when gas, oil, kerosene, wood or charcoal is burned.
CO detectors are easy to install and can be purchased at most stores that also sell smoke detectors, said Bill Peters, an information officer for Cal Fire. But not just any detector will do.

“You must buy one that's approved by the state fire marshal's office,” Palm Desert director of buildings and safety Russell Grance said.
They have to be connected to the home's electrical wiring and also have a battery back-up. The exception is homes without attic access and then a battery-operated detector is OK, Grance said.

The fire marshal has a list of approved devices and installation requirements on its website,

Read the full story as it appeared in the Desert Sun:

As always - Keep the faith !!